Real Talk: Holiday Weight Gain

In college I had a running teacher that told the class the average holiday weight gain was between 7- 10 pounds. After she said this, I looked around and saw horror on all of the freshmen girls’ faces. I was shocked Holiday weight gainwhen I heard that number, 7 pounds?!! That is like 2 pants sizes. Could it be true? No. The answer is no. I don’t know where that teacher got her statistics from but she is totally wrong. I hope she is reading this post right now and not spreading unwarranted fear to her current running class.
The truth is, people do tend to gain a bit of weight during the holiday season, but the real average is only between 1-2 pounds. Not a big deal. However, if you are gaining 2 pounds every holiday season it does add up. Keep in mind the holidays are about more than just food. Good food is an important part of celebrations, but it is not the only part! Here are my top five tips for avoiding holiday weight gain.

  • Just as you shouldn’t go grocery shopping while hungry, don’t go to the holiday party ravenous! Have a meal full of fiber and protein before you go. Such as roasted chicken and kale salad.

To read the rest of my tips for keeping your weight in check this holiday season head on over to Shopwell.holiday-weight-gain-snowmen

5 thoughts on “Real Talk: Holiday Weight Gain

  1. Great tips and SO true! Its amazing how being active during the holidays can help ur mood too I did a good workout on Friday morning and it felt soooo great to get some of that turkey fat off my body that totally made my day! Thank u for the great blog Heather love ur posts!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Vegan Holiday Week 2 Roundup | The Friendly Fig

Leave a Reply

