Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza

Is pizza healthy? Can I lose weight and still eat pizza? How often can I eat pizza? I get these questions all the time. Americans (at least Simi Valleyians) love them some pizza. The answers depends on many factors, primarily: what kind of pizza are you eating and how many slices? I believe that all foods can fit into a healthy diet when eaten in moderation. To me, moderation would probably mean once a week or less. This is the one rule I have for pizza. If you eat pizza, you eat salad (or some type of green vegetable). This does not mean forcing your child to eat vegetables. It simply means making a salad to go with the pizza or just ordering one from the delivery man.

pizza

Cookin’ with my munchkin!

Now that we have established that pizza can fit into a healthy diet, lets talk about this pizza. Yes, It does have candied nuts and pears and yes, it is amazing! I’m really really excited about this pizza because I no longer have to pay $13.99 at California Pizza Kitchen to get my beloved Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza. Sounds super weird but this is a must try! I think I may even like my version better than theirs. Take that CPK!  It’s funny, because I don’t even like Gorgonzola cheese. When I get it at CPK I ask for light Gorgonzola because it is just too pungent for me. You could also try subbing the Gorgonzola for feta or goat cheese!

P1160087

one slice, who am I kidding?

I used Trader Joe’s refrigerated pizza dough for this pizza and it worked great! You can probably use any good quality pizza dough you like though. This pizza is amazingly simple to make, despite having quite a complex and deep flavor profile. I actually had dinner ready early tonight, score! Here’s a helpful tip, if you are also feeding little kids, just buy some pizza sauce and also make a more traditional cheese or pepperoni pizza. Although, I do think it’s best to expose kids to all different types of foods and not be a short order cook. P1160066 P1160064 P1160068 P1160074 Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza

Ingredients- one 12″ pizza

  • TJ’s pizza dough (whole wheat or white)
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 1 TBSP butter (optional)
  • 2 TBSP balsamic vinegar
  • 1 TBSP brown sugar
  • 1 thinly sliced pear
  • 1/2 sliced onion (caramelized)
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella (enough to fully cover pizza)
  • 2 TBSP Gorgonzola crumbles
  • 1-2 tbsp chopped candied pecans

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 475 F
  2. Let pizza dough come to room temperature and stretch out to a 12″ pizza round. Place on oiled baking sheet or pizza stone.
  3. Brush top of pizza with olive oil
  4. Put balsamic vinegar and sugar in sauce pan. Turn on medium heat, add thinly sliced pears and cook for 2-3 mins. Make sure you get a good sizzle. Put pears to side
  5. Add 1 TBSP olive oil and butter to sauce pan. Cook onions until translucent and caramelized
  6. Place pears and onions on pizza. Cover with mozzarella cheese.
  7. Bake pizza for 8 mins. Remove from oven, add Gorgonzola and chopped pecans
  8. Return to oven and cook for 2 more minutes
  9. Serve pizza with mixed greens and favorite Ranch or balsamic dressing. Feel free to add extra cheese, nuts or pears to your salad!

2 thoughts on “Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza

Leave a Reply

